NIGHT OUT WITH INDUSTRY - 2023

California Society of Health-System

Diablo Chapter



NOWI 2023

It was so nice to see everyone get together and chat with Industry. It was a great turn-out and we also hosted our firstever Spelling Bee!

Upcoming

- Several events planned, please check your e-mails
- Dinner Programs
 upcoming listed
- CSHP Seminar is November 12-15th in Long Beach, CA

DSHP members participating in the first ever Spelling Bee!

Pharmacy Phiesta: Let's Taco Bout Pharmacy!

Let's taco bout how this year's NOWI event was such a Phantastic Pharmacy Phiesta. NOWI event planners once again wowed us with their meticulous planning! It was also fun to catch up with Industry friends who continue to support our chapter. Members had a great time mingling, eating, and even battled each other out during the Spelling Bee! We had to spell some pretty tough words... bevacizumab anyone?

Special shout out to:

Brigitte Ouabo, Laura Polonsky, Veronica Madrigal, and Jared Garcia for planning!

Barbara Uenaka – Distinguished Service Award winner and Affiliate Chapter Volunteer of the Year Award (CSHP level)

Brigitte Ouabo - Member of the Year winner

Laura Polonsky and Jeff Olson – Practitioner Recognition Program Award (CSHP level)

Yolanda Ramos – Nominated for CSHP Fellow

Martin Iyoya – Nominated for Pharmacist of the Year

Thanks to our members who help set up and clean up!

2





Announcing our 2023 Award Recipients

CSHP is pleased to announce our next round of recipients for our 2023 awards! Help us in congratulating all of our awardees on their incredible accomplishments and hard work as healthcare professionals and members.

Practitioner Recognition Program Award (FCSHP) The CSHP Practitioner Recognition Program formally recognizes pharmacists that demonstrate an ongoing level of involvement and commitment to educating practitioners, residents, students, administrators, and/or the public in pharmacy practice.

Recipient(s):

- Angela Jeong, PharmD, APh, FCSHP
- Brian Yamada, PharmD, BCPS, APh, FCSHP
- Diana Park, PharmD, BCCCP, FCSHP
- Jeff Olson, CPhT, BS, FCSHP
- Laura Polonsky, PharmD, MBA, BCPS, FCSHP
- Marlene Nashed, PharmD, BCPS, BCSCP, APh, FCSHP
- Nicole Cho, PharmD, APh, BCPS, FCSHP
- Rosalin Preechakul, PharmD, BCPS, APh, FCSHP

New Practitioner Achievement Award (NPAA)

CSHP's New Practitioner Achievement Award is designed to recognize an exemplary new practitioner member who has made significant contributions to the Society, the profession and who, through their professional practice and activities, has promoted CSHP's Mission.

Recipient: Sandy On, PharmD, BCOP

As a new practitioner, Dr. On's remarkable excellence in leadership, avid interest in public service, and continuous dedication to advancing the pharmacy profession are just a few reasons for her designation as our 2023 New Practitioner Achievement Award recipient. At the state level, Dr. On has served

as President at our USC Student Chapter to now as Quatra County's Legislative Affairs Chair (2021-2023) while also serving as an Alternate Delegate.

In addition to her continued engagement with the CSHP community, Dr. On's commitment to excellence in pharmacy practice through promotion of global health. Over the last three years, Sandy has worked closely with a non-government organization called Global Oncology, whose mission is to expand cancer care for underserved patients around the world.

Affiliate Chapter Volunteer of the Year Award (ACVOY)

CSHP shall award annually a CSHP Affiliate Chapter Volunteer of the Year. This award shall recognize one individual annually who has made exceptional and sustained contributions to the Society at affiliate level.

Recipient: Barbara Uenaka, PharmD, MHA, FCSHP

Dr. Uenaka Barbara has been a member of CSHP since 1977 and truly embodies ideal characteristics of an active and engaged member. At the local chapter level, Dr. Uenaka was elected as Director (2006) and for the past 15 years has served as the Continuing Education (CE) chair where she was able to turnaround the educational series for DSHP from 12 programs a year to an average of 40 up to over 100. Her tireless efforts continued at the state level where Dr. Uenakaalso volunteered in multiple positions including: Membership Committee Chair (2010-12, 2019), Seminar Planning Committee (2009-10, 2014-15, 2019-21), Committee on Nominations (2012-13, 2018), Practitioner Recognition Committee (2016-17, 2019).

Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award (IPPA)

The Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award is designated to recognize outstanding patient care through innovations in pharmacy practice.

Recipient:

 University of California Irvine School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences Project Title: DIG IT – Digital Innovation to Grow Quality Care Through Interprofessional Teamwork for the Underserved Project Lead: Joyce Y. Lee, PharmD, APh, FCCP, BCPS, BCACP, CDCES

For their excellent work in moving the needle forward with digital health by utilizing pharmacists and expanding the reach of clinical pharmacy while also empowering the patient to be in the driver's seat for determining better outcomes, CSHP is proud to award 'DIG IT – Digital Innovation to Grow Quality Care Through Interprofessional Teamwork for the Underserved' as our 2023 Innovative Pharmacy Practice Award recipient for 2023. This project was an amazing concept and community benefit for the underserved population.



October Events:

---- Dinner Programs once weekly for 2022 ----

October 3rd 2023: DSHP Dinner Program

Familial Hypercholesterolemia Location: Forbes Mill Steakhouse, Danville

DON'T FORGET ABOUT CSHP SEMINAR 2023!

Oct 12-15th 2023 in Long Beach California

November 9th to 13th, 2022: CSHP Seminar

Location: Disneyland Hotel, Anaheim

Oct 24th, 2023: DSHP Dinner Program

NSCLC and Role of Biomarker Testing

Location: Postino's, Lafayette

Please contact the following with questions:

Resident CE Dinners - resident.dshp.ce@gmail.com

Dinner Programs - dshp.events@gmail.com

IF YOU NEED TO CANCEL:

Members are expected to notify the DSHP Event Coordinator at least 48 hours in advance if they have signed up for an educational program and have to cancel for any reason.

Board 2023

2023 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Officer Directors

President – Brooke Betts

Immediate Past-President – Jared Garcia

President-elect – Veronica Madrigal

Treasurer - Julia Teshima

Secretary - Brigitte Ouabo

Elected Directors (2-year term)

2022 - Johnny Wong, Katrina Zyweic (NP)

2023 - Laura Polonsky, Yolanda Ramos

BOARD MEMBERS

Delegates

Veronica Madrigal, Jared Garcia, Barbara Uenaka, Nikolai Dahl, Brigitte Ouabo, Samantha Teshima, Eunice Lee

Liaisons

CSHP Board – Johnny Wong

Government Affairs - Brigitte Ouabo

Technician - Donna Fitzgerald

New Practitioner - Veronica Madrigal, Brooke Betts

Student - Graysy Monzon (Touro) & Harut Bareian (UOP)

Industry - Sarah Lee, Natalie Sweeney, Tony Huynh

Committees

Nominations – Veronica Madrigal, Barbara Uenaka, Judy Lee

Membership – Brooke Betts, Samantha Teshima, Nikolai Dahl

Education - Amy Le

CE – Marilyn Nguyen

CAPE Accreditation - Yolanda Ramos

NOWI – Brooke Betts, Brigitte Ouabo, Laura Polonsky

Community Outreach/Social - Katrina Zywiec

Managers Network - Martin Iyoya, Jared Garcia

Newsletter - Elizabeth Vuong

Webmaster - Jared Garcia